Zegama-Aizkorri Alpine Marathon

Edition 21

Zegama, Basque Country, Spain
12-14 May, 2023 (Fri - Sun)
Event size: 100 - 999 participants

Trail running

42.195 km, 5200 m

About the event

A medium mountain route over the Aratz massif and the Sierra of Aizkorri which includes the four highest peaks in the Basque Autonomous Region ( Aratz – Aitzkorri –Akategi and Aitxuri ). From the town of Zegama ( 296m) it is climbed up to the high of Otzaurte (652m ) and then, from the mountain pass mentioned before, a route along paths and mountain tracks of great natural beauty. It combines forests, principally beech, with steep rocky slopes and high grazing land. It is very technical and with a high level of difficulty.

Races offered by this event


12 May, 2023 (Fri)
Trail running - Vertical race
5200 m
1015 m Elevation gain
On site
Mountain range

Zegama-Aizkorri Alpine Marathon

14 May, 2023 (Sun)
Trail running
42.195 km
5472 m Elevation gain
Race size: 250 - 499 participants
On site
Mountain range

Zegama-Aizkorri Alpine Marathon

Stay22 logoStay22 logo

Find hotels near Zegama-Aizkorri Alpine Marathon

Top destinations: Trail running

Country flag of fr
6882 races
Country flag of us
6344 races
Country flag of gb
United Kingdom
700 races
Country flag of ca
394 races
Country flag of au
317 races
Country flag of be
266 races

News: Trail running

Read more

Kilian Jornet blasted to a new course record at Zegama Marathon 2014

26 May, 2014 (Mon)

Credit : Ian Corless The rain falling over the Basque Country Mountains didn’t stop Kilian Jornet from winning the §race_link(1606) in 3:48:38. This is Kilian’s 7th victory in Zegama and his 5th in a row. He managed to break Rob Jebb’s record (3:54:18) set in 2005. During the whole race Kilian Jornet and Marco di Gasperi were in the lead. But Marco couldn’t keep with the Catalan runner and finished second in 3:50:38. Luis Alberto Hernando, who had just taken the win at Transvulcania, finished third with a time of 3:50:57. Credit : Ian Corless Stevie Kremer took the win in the ladies race. She crossed the finish line after a 4:46:43 run, almost 6 minutes ahead of Elisa Desco (4:50:20). The third place went to Maite Mayora in 4:51:47. 463 runners completed the muddy run. Complete results for the 2014 Zegama Marathon Top 10 Men 1 Kilian Jornet 3:48:38 2 Marco De Gasperi 3:50:38 3 Luis Alberto Hernando 3:50:57 4 Ionut Zinca 3:53:14 5 Zaid Ait Malek 3:55:06 6 Michel Lanne 3:57:27 7 Manuel Merillas 3:58:09 8 Jokin Lizeaga 3:59:11 9 Tadei Pivk 4:00:28 10 Aritz Egea 4:00:04 Top 10 Ladies 1 Stevie Kremer 4:46:43 2 Elisa Desco 4:50:20 3 Maite Mayora 4:51:47 4 Emelie Forsberg 4:52:12 5 Kasie Enman 4:53:33 6 Ana Conde 4:56:46 7 Leire Agirrezabala 5:00:52 8 Uxue Fraile 5:03:51 9 Emma Roca 5:08:03 10 Landie Greyling 5:08:41
1 min read