Press ReleaseResults

8-hour Dream Endurance Race Runners In Close Finish

27 Jul, 2017 (Thu)

INDIANAPOLIS…The 3rd Annual 8-Hour Dream Endurance Race held on Saturday, July 22, 2017, resulted in the closest finishes in the event’s history. As Indiana’s only Endurance Race, the shadows of Hinkle Fieldhouse provided some shade as the runners competed to see how many miles they could endure over the 8 hours. The event is produced by Carmel Road Racing Group.

The 8-Hour Dream Endurance is the Road Runners Club of America Endurance Race State Championship, awarding winners state championship titles along with a cash purse.

The top three males and females and their corresponding distances completed are:

Top Males:

1. Travis Shields, 40, Indianapolis, IN – 51.49 miles (new event record)
2. Jon Petysowski, 26, Palatine, IL – 49.07 miles
3. Terry Kent, 39, Greenwood, IN – 47.18 miles

Top Females:

1. Emily Bello, 31, Louisville, KY – 47.18 miles
2. Lauren Manual, 34, Indianapolis, IN – 44.23 miles
3. Lisa Pratt Ward, 42, Haiti – 44.08 miles

The Overall Team Champion was awarded to “bluerub™ endurance team”, a four-person team. They completed 65.25 miles over eight hours. The second place team was the “Navajo Rangers”, a Chinese American team, at 64.64 miles. “Why Are We Doing This” finished third with 64.26 miles.

Male winner Travis Shields was competing in the event for the first time. Jon Petysowski was the third place finisher in 2016 so that makes back-to-back podiums for him.

Emily Bello placed third overall; beaten by only two men. Bello finished second in the women’s division in 2016. Lauren Manual finished 6th overall; beaten by four men and one woman. Lisa Pratt Ward was last year’s female winner and 7th overall this year.