EDP Lisbon Marathon

EDP Maratona de Lisboa

Edition 11

Cascais, Portugal
08 Oct, 2023 (Sun)


8.5 km, 21.098 km, 42.195 km

About the event

The EDP Lisbon Marathon is a renowned race that has been praised by the likes of Forbes Magazine, the Huffington Post and American Express. The race starts in Cascais and finishes at Praça do Comércio, taking runners on a scenic route along the sea and river. It has been officially added to the International Athletics Federation (IAAF) calender, and has become a popular choice for elite athletes and participants from all around the globe.

Races offered by this event

You have 2 weeks to prepare


08 Oct, 2023 (Sun)
42.195 km
On site

Luso Half Marathon

08 Oct, 2023 (Sun)
21.098 km
On site

Mini Marathon 8.5km

08 Oct, 2023 (Sun)
8.5 km
On site

Course details

Course highlights

The Lisbon Marathon leaves with as newness the start in the city of Cascais. The course that leads you to the finish, will allow you to take one of the most beautiful roads in the coast (Costa do Estoril). You will have a combination of turquoise sea in the background and then entering the historic area of Lisbon. The finish line is installed at Praça do Comércio (historical plaza at the heart of Lisbon city). The start will be made in the town of Cascais, ( Baía de Cascais, Passeio D. Luís I.) then following the coastal road that runs through the cities of Carcavelos, Estoril, Oeiras, with an impressive view of the sea Belem, Jeronimos Monestery finishing at the “Praça de Comércio” in the historical center of the city, joining the Marathon and the Half Marathon runners.

Start address

Av. da República 371, 2750-642 Cascais, Portugal

Finish address

Praça do Comércio, 1100-148 Lisboa, Portugal

Route map

route map

What’s included in entry

These are included in your entry
Finisher medal
Event T-shirts
Custom BIB number
Goodie bag
Cash prizes
Free public transport
Shuttle to Start Line
Nutrition Stations
Expo entry
Drink Stations
Bag drop
Timing chip (single use)
Photo Service
Accident insurance
Medical Assistance

Frequently Asked Questions

Stay22 logoStay22 logo

Find hotels near EDP Lisbon Marathon

News: Running

Read more
ResultsPress Release

EDP Lisbon Marathon 2022 - Results

10 Oct, 2022 (Mon)

Andualem Shiferaw breaks the EDP Lisbon marathon course record Ethiopia’s Andualem Shiferaw broke his own course record at the EDP Lisbon Marathon that was held this Sunday (9). Winner in the last two editions (2019 and 2021, this one with the previous course record – 2:05.52), the 30 year old athlete finished the race in 2:05.43, improving his time by 7 seconds. Haftu Asefa (2:06.33) and Birhan Tesfaye (2:07.04), both also from Ethiopia, completed the podium. In the women’s race, the kenyan Bornes Kitur took the top honors cutting the tape in a time of 2:24.17, only 3 seconds shy of the course record. Ethiopian’s Sorome Amente and Buzunesh Gudeta finished second and third, with 2:25.57 and 2:26.01. Andualem Shiferaw: “I’m happy to win the race for the third time and, also, to break the course record. Lisbon it’s like a second home for me. The course is good, the weather also. I’m happy to come back here. If the organizers invite me, I’ll come again. I can improve the course record a little more” Personal bests for the Luso Half Marathon winners In the 21k, the Luso Half Marathon that started a few hours after the full marathon, the winners were the kenyan Charles Langat and the ethiopian Emebet Mamo, both with personal bests. Langat won in 1:00.44 hours, improving his best time by more than 2 minutes (his best time was 1:02.59). Dinkalen Adane, from Ethiopia, was second, just two seconds away from the winner. In the third place came the ugandan Isaac Kibet, with 1:01.23. In the women’s race, Emebet Mamo won in 1:09.35 – another personal record, by 24 seconds – ahead of the kenyans Ludwina Chepngetich (1:10.31) and Faith Jeptoo (1:10.54). Charles Langat (men’s winner): “I was not expecting to win, but I did it. I felt strong in the end and I pushed. We [with Dinkalen Adane] helped each other in the race.”. Results EDP Lisboa Marathon Top 5 Men 1 Andualem Belay Shiferaw 02:05:45 2 Haftu Teklu Asefa 02:06:33 3 Birhan Nebebew Tesfaye 02:07:04 4 Julius Kipkorir Tuwei 02:08:23 5 Tsedat Abeje Ayana 02:08:32 Top 5 Women 1 Bornes Jepkirui Kitur 02:24:17 2 Sorome Negash Amente 02:25:57 3 Buzunesh Getachew Gudeta 02:26:01 4 Urge Diro Soboka 02:27:34 5 Fozya Jemal Amid 02:28:30 Luso Half Marathon Top 5 Men 1 Charles Kipkurui Langat 01:00:44 2 Dinkalen Ayele Adane 01:00:46 3 Isaac Kibet 01:01:23 4 Fabiano Nelson Sulle 01:01:56 5 Isaac Kipsang Temoi 01:01:58 Top 5 Women 1 Emebet Niguse Mamo 01:09:35 2 Ludwina Chepngetich 01:10:31 3 Faith Kimutai Jeptoo 01:10:54 4 Stella Jepkosgei Rutto 01:11:46 5 Fatima Azaharaa Ouhaddou 01:13:15 Photos of EDP Lisboa Marathon
Ahotu event page:
1 min read

Results 2021: EDP Lisbon Marathon

18 Oct, 2021 (Mon)

EDP Lisbon Maratona Andualem Belay Shiferaw grinded past more than 1878 runners to win in 02:05:52. Hosea Kiplimo earned runner-up honours with a time of 02:07:39. Yihunligne Adane Amsalu (02:07:54) made notched third place. In the ladies race, Asayech Ayalew Bere finished first in 02:25:07 . Almaz Negede Fekade earned runner-up honours with a time of 02:27:14. Jane Jelagat Seurey got the third place in 02:28:35. Top 5 Men 1 Andualem Belay Shiferaw 02:05:52 2 Hosea Kiplimo 02:07:39 3 Yihunligne Adane Amsalu 02:07:54 4 Balew Yihunie Derseh 02:10:09 5 Dadi Yami Gemeda 02:10:53 Top 5 Women 1 Asayech Ayalew Bere 02:25:07 2 Almaz Negede Fekade 02:27:14 3 Jane Jelagat Seurey 02:28:35 4 Agnes Jeruto Barsosio 02:28:54 5 Zerfie Limeneh Tesema 02:29:04 Complete results Luso Meia Maratona Gerba Beyata Dibaba scored victory with a time of 01:01:21. He finished 2 secondes ahead of Isaac Kipsan Temoi. Finishing third was Awet Habte Ghebrezghiabehr (01:02:11). In the ladies race, Ethlemahu Sintayehu Dessi won the race with a time of 01:10:48 , followed by Dolshi Tesfu Teklegergish who finished with a time of 01:10:59. While Gete Alemayehu Teklemichael came in third at 01:13:33 Top 5 Men 1 Gerba Beyata Dibaba 01:01:21 2 Isaac Kipsan Temoi 01:01:23 3 Awet Habte Ghebrezghiabehr 01:02:11 4 Andrew Rotich Kwemoi 01:02:19 5 Shadrack Kimining 01:02:42 Top 5 Women 1 Ethlemahu Sintayehu Dessi 01:10:48 2 Dolshi Tesfu Teklegergish 01:10:59 3 Gete Alemayehu Teklemichael 01:13:33 4 Solange Jesus 01:15:25 5 Sara Duarte 01:20:24 Complete results
Ahotu event page:
1 min read